First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Nathan Ballentine Gary E. Clary Kirkman Finlay III Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Walton J. McLeod Joshua Putnam Samuel Rivers Jr. Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811 Room 228 Blatt Building William K. (Bill) Bowers Raye Felder Phyllis J. Henderson Mia S. McLeod Ralph W. Norman Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

September 30, 2015

VIA EMAIL AND U.S. MAIL Mrs. Susan Alford

State Director South Carolina Department of Social Services Post Office Box 1520 Columbia, South Carolina 29202-1520

Dear Director Alford:

On behalf of the entire Ad Hoc Committee, I would like to thank you for sharing your time and knowledge with the committee. During the September 30, 2015, meeting, you kindly offered to provide this committee with the following by October 14, 2015:

- Number of requests received for judicial bypass each of the last five years; and
- Number of requests for judicial bypass granted by the court each of the last five years.

This information, along with this letter, will be posted on the committee's website. After reviewing the information, the committee will determine whether it needs you to appear at the next committee meeting. Therefore, please tentatively hold your calendar open on Thursday, November 12, 2015, the date of the committee's next scheduled meeting. This ad hoc committee looks forward to working with you and the agency staff during the legislative oversight process and to receiving the follow up information.

_	Sincerely,
1	
	Gary E. Clary
	Ad Hoc Committee Chair

cc: The Honorable Wm. Weston J. Newton The Honorable Nathan Ballentine The Honorable Robert L. Ridgeway III

The Honorable Mia S. McLeod The Honorable Walton J. McLeod The Honorable Bill Taylor The Honorable James E. Smith, Jr. The Honorable Raye Felder The Honorable Tommy M. Stringer